El Paso County Website | Sheriff Home | General Information 

 

Sheriff >  Support Services Bureau >  Concealed Handgun Permit

Concealed Handgun Permit:



By appointment only - Please call 520-7249 to schedule an appointment.



Address:

El Paso County Sheriff's Office

Concealed Handgun Program

27 East Vermijo Avenue

Colorado Springs, CO 80903


Email:

chp@elpasoco.com - Note: No appointments will be scheduled through this email address. Please call (719) 520-7249 to schedule your appointment.


Phone:

(719) 520-7249


Fax:

(719) 520-7345


The El Paso County Sheriff's Office is pleased to provide you with the following information in order to assist you with the Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) application process. Below you will find the following information to guide you: application, information packet, required fees, procedures and guidelines for the program. The El Paso County Sheriff's Office Concealed Handgun Program complies with Colorado Revised Statutes regarding concealed handgun permits. (18-12-203 through 18-12-207)


To apply for a concealed handgun permit, you will need to bring the following to your scheduled appointment:

  • Colorado drivers license or state ID
  • a completed unsigned application
  • your original certificate of firearms training issued within the last ten years (acceptable firearms training includes: NRA, Hunter’s Safety, proof of organized shooting competitions, DD2-14, Active Duty Orders)
  • $112.50 CASH, PERSONAL CHECK*, MONEY ORDER*, or CASHIER’S CHECK* made payable to E.P.S.O. or El Paso County Sheriff’s Office. This includes the $52.50 Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) fee for the background and fingerprint check and a $60.00 processing fee for the El Paso County Sheriff's Office. NO ONE IS EXEMPT FROM FINGERPRINTING OR FEES, NO EXCEPTIONS. Per C.R.S. 18-12-204 (1) (b), the Concealed Handgun Permit is valid for a period of five years after the date of issuance.

Upon completion of the application and firearms training course, you will need to call the concealed handgun program to make an appointment to process your permit. Please call (719) 520-7249 for your appointment. CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMITS ARE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. Your initial appointment will take approximately 20-30 minutes. At that time, your application will be reviewed, a photo and signature will be obtained, the fees will be collected and two sets of fingerprints will be taken. NO ONE IS EXEMPT FROM FINGERPRINTING OR FEES. Your fingerprints will then be sent to Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) for your background. Permits can take anywhere from four weeks to 90 days to be reviewed by CBI. The Sheriff’s Office then has the obligation to review all permits before they are issued.


A reminder letter will be mailed to all applicants who have an existing permit that needs to be renewed. You can renew your permit 120 days prior to date of expiration. If you fail to renew your permit prior to six months after date of expiration, your permit will be permanently removed from the database and you will have to apply as a new applicant. Renewal fees vary depending on when your permit was issued. A letter will go out to all renewals with appropriate fees requested. Please note that any training requirements for this permit will be "grandfathered" in from your previous application and therefore no additional firearms training is needed. Your appointment will take approximately 10 - 30 minutes depending on your renewal status. At that time, your application will be reviewed, a photo and signature will be obtained, the fees will be collected and two sets of fingerprints may or may not be required.


The Concealed Handgun Permit Office is in the Office of the Sheriff building located at 27 E. Vermijo Avenue. (on the southwest corner of Vermijo Avenue and Tejon Street).


  Information and forms used for a Concealed Handgun Permit
   Concealed Handgun Permit - Application (.pdf)

   Concealed Handgun Permit - Information Packet (.pdf)

   Change of Address / Lost Permit (.pdf)

   Commonly Asked Questions - Pamphlet (.pdf)

   Information on HR218 (.pdf)

   HR218 Application (.pdf)

  Frequently Asked Questions
   What are the qualifications?

   What type of firearms training is required?

   How long is the permit good for?

   How much does the permit cost?

   Do we have reciprocity with other states?

   What if I move?

   What happens if my permit is lost, stolen, or damaged?

Q: What are the qualifications?


A: The applicant must meet the following criteria:


  • Successfully complete a background investigation, which includes, but is not limited to; information obtained from the National Crime Information Center, Colorado Crime Information Center, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Colorado Bureau of Investigation, and other Law Enforcement Agencies.
  • Be a resident of El Paso County. (active military stationed in El Paso County qualify as residents)
  • At least 21 years of age upon receipt of your application.
  • Submit proof of completion of a firearm safety or training course or class
  • Provide a copy of your current Colorado Driver's License or Colorado ID and if applicable your Military ID and active duty orders.

Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: What type of firearms training is required?


A: The applicant must submit with the application the original certificate or a photocopy of the certificate with the instructors original signature, affidavit, or other document from the instructor, school, club, business, organization, or group that conducted or taught the course or class, attesting to the successful completion of the training. All documentation must have been obtained within the 10 years preceding submittal of the application. It may be in the following forms:


  • Certificate from an NRA certified instructor.
  • Hunter Safety Card.
  • Evidence of experience with a firearm through participation in organized shooting competitions.
  • Current certified firearms instructor.
  • Current Military orders or proof of honorable discharge from a branch of the United States Armed Forces reflecting handgun qualifications.
  • A certificate showing retirement from a Colorado Law Enforcement agency reflecting handgun qualifications.
  • Certificate of Completion from any firearms safety class or course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, junior college, college or university, or private firearms training facility.

Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: How long is the permit good for?


A: All permits are valid for a 5 year period from the date of issuance. However, if you move out of the state of Colorado, you must turn in your permit to the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office as the permit will become invalid once you no longer reside within the state. Failure to notify of any change of address is a Class 1 Petty Offense.


Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: How much does the permit cost?


A: All new applicants must submit $112.50 CASH, PERSONAL CHECK*, MONEY ORDER*, or CASHIER’S CHECK* made payable to E.P.S.O. or El Paso County Sheriff’s Office. This includes the $52.50 Colorado Bureau of Investigations (CBI) fee for the background and fingerprint check and a $60.00 processing fee for the El Paso County Sheriff's Office. NO ONE IS EXEMPT FROM FINGERPRINTING OR FEES, NO EXCEPTIONS. Per C.R.S. 18-12-204 (1) (b), the Concealed Handgun Permit is valid for a period of five years after the date of issuance.


For renewals, the applicant must submit a CASHIER’S CHECK OR MONEY ORDER ONLY in the amount of either $53.00 OR $92.50 depending on when your permit was issued and what your original fee to CBI was. (NOTE: the $92.50 fee for a renewal is very rare, if you have a question please call.) Renewal letters will be mailed approximately 120 days prior to date of expiration. You will be provided a phone number to call to determine your renewal fee for CBI. Please wait until you receive this letter before calling. Reminder, you MUST, by law, notify the Sheriff’s Office of any change of address within 30 days or you can be charged a Class 1 Petty Offense. The renewal fee includes the CBI processing fee of either $13.00 or $52.50 and a $40.00 fee to the Sheriff’s Office for the totals mentioned above. The Sheriff’s Office will accept cash, check, cashier’s check or money order.


*Please be sure all checks, money orders or cashier’s checks are signed and dated correctly.


Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: Do we have reciprocity with other states?


A: Colorado law (CRS 18-12-213) states that Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permittee is 21 years of age or older AND the other state recognizes Colorado permits as valid in their state. As reciprocity is continually changing, please refer to http://cbi.state.co.us for the most up to date list.


Please call the State Patrol of any state not listed for current carry restrictions.


Reciprocity of Concealed Handgun Permits is for travel only, once a permittee permanently moves from the State of Colorado, he/she must notify the El Paso County Sheriff's Office within 30 days, or he/she may be charged with a petty offense. Once permanently a resident of another state, the Colorado permit will become invalid. Additionally, once a permittee becomes a permanent resident of Colorado, he/she must apply for a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit. As a Colorado resident, any out of state permit will not be recognized.


Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: What if I move?


A: A permit holder must notify the issuing Sheriff's Office within thirty (30) days of moving. Failure to do so is considered a Class 1 Petty Offense. Please download and complete the Lost permit/Change of Address form listed above and mail it to The El Paso County Sheriff's Office, ATTN: CHP, 27 East Vermijo Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80903. A new permit will then be mailed to you. It is your responsibility to destroy your old permit once you receive a new one. Reminder, if you move out of the state of Colorado, you must turn in your permit to the El Paso County Sheriff’s Office along with your change of address form as the permit will be invalid.


Back to Frequently Asked Questions



Q: What happens if my permit is lost or stolen or damaged?


A: A permit holder must notify the issuing Sheriff's Office within three (3) days of loss, theft or destruction of a concealed handgun permit. Failure to do so is considered a Class 1 Petty Offense. Please download and complete the Lost permit/Change of Address form listed above and mail it to The El Paso County Sheriff's Office, ATTN: CHP, 27 East Vermijo Avenue, Colorado Springs, CO 80903. A new permit will then be mailed to you.


Back to Frequently Asked Questions



To find out more about the Support Services Bureau, click on any of the links located below.

Support Services Bureau - Sections & Units
  

   Sheriff's Office Facilities Information

Office of the Sheriff
27 East Vermijo Avenue
Colorado Springs, CO. 80903
Phone:719.520.7100

-map-

Metro Detention Facility
210 South Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO. 80903

-map-
Criminal Justice Center
2739 East Las Vegas
Colorado Springs, CO. 80906
Phone:719.390.2000

-map-

 

Directions to each of our facilities can be found by clicking here.

© El Paso County, Colorado, All Rights Reserved | General Disclaimer | Contact Us | Online Services