Office of Emergency Management

General Information

The mission of the Office of Emergency Management (OEM) is to ensure that local governments within El Paso County have the capability to survive a disaster, and to manage and conduct essential emergency functions to support our citizens. This capability of managing a survivable crisis includes the ability to direct, control, manage and coordinate emergency operations in cooperation with other local governments, the State and Federal government and non-profit organizations. To accomplish this, the Office of Emergency Management maintains and develops a capability built on people (volunteers), communications, equipment and plans.

The Emergency Services Division (ESD) encompasses the Office of the Deputy Fire Marshal Commander John Padgett, Disaster Preparedness, the Hazardous Materials Response Team, El Paso County Search & Rescue, the El Paso County Wildland Fire Crew, Fire Investigations, the Special Communications Unit (SCU) and the Office of Emergency Management.

With only 12 full time employees, the Emergency Services Division relies heavily upon the services of volunteers.